Malta is a southern European country located in the Mediterranean Sea. It is located about 80 km south of Sicily, lies east of Tunisia, and about 330 km north of Libya. It is one of the smallest but most densely populated areas.

Maltese and English are the spoken official languages. Malta gained its independence from the UK in 1964 and became known as a Republic in 1974.

Malta is most known for its tourist climate of warm, comfortable temperatures, and numerous recreational spots and historic structures.

The Legal System in Malta

The legal system in Malta is based on Acts of Parliament, as well as Rules, Orders, and other rulings which have been brought into effect in various sessions. The Constitution of Malta outweighs all other aspects and documentation of law and is applicable to all situations. Courts in Malta are divided into Superior and Inferior Courts and are ruled upon by magistrates appointed by the government.